Shortlists by male performance

(up to 2018)

Richard Addison, Man of the Moment, Pitlochry Festival Theatre

Richard Addison: 1 nomination
2006–07 Man of the Moment, Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Nominated

Joseph Arkley: 1 nomination
2017–18, Richard III, Perth Theatre, Nominated

Fraser Ayres: 1 nomination
2003–04 The People Next Door, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated

Adam Best: 1 nomination
2013–14, Crime and Punishment, Citizens Theatre Company, Won

John Bett: 2 nominations
2003–04 Scenes From an Execution, Dundee Rep Theatre, Won 2009–10 The Government Inspector, Communicado, Nominated

David Birrell: 1 nomination
2010–11 Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Dundee Rep Theatre, Won

Stuart Bowman: 1 nomination
2011–12 Watching the Detective, A Play, a Pie and a Pint, Nominated

Liam Brennan: 3 nominations
2004–05 Othello, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated
2005–06 Tales from Hollywood, Perth Theatre, Won
2006–07 Tom Fool, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated

Dugald Bruce-Lockhart: 1 nomination
2005–06 Goethe’s Faust Parts One & Two, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated

Cliff Burnett: 1 nomination
2015–16, Into That Darkness, Citizens Theatre. Nominated

Sean Campion: 1 nomination
2007–08 Carthage Must Be Destroyed, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated

Jimmy Chisholm: 1 nomination
2013–14, The Collection, Rapture Theatre, Nominated

Andy Clark: 2 nominations
2005–06 The Devil’s Larder, Grid Iron, Nominated
2008–09 The Ching Room, A Play, a Pie and a Pint, Nominated

Stephen Clyde: 1 nomination
2011–12 A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Bard in the Botanics, Won

George Costigan: 1 nomination
2017–18, Long Day’s Journey into Night, Citizens Theatre, Nominated

Tony Cownie: 1 nomination
2004–05 A Madman Sings to the Moon, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated

Alan Cumming: 1 nomination
2012–13, Macbeth, National Theatre of Scotland, Won

Tam Dean Burn: 1 nomination
2007–08 Venus as a Boy, National Theatre of Scotland, Nominated

Brian Ferguson: 3 nominations
2009–10 The Dark Things, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated
2014–15, Hamlet, Citizens Theatre, Nominated
2016–17: A Number, Royal Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh, Nominated

Alex Ferns: 1 nomination
2010–11 The Hard Man, Scottish Theatres Consortium, Nominated

Keith Fleming: 2 nominations
2007–08 Peer Gynt, National Theatre of Scotland, Won
2014–15, The Call of the Wild, A Play, a Pie and a Pint, Glasgow, Nominated
Right: Keith Fleming in Peer Gynt. Photo: Douglas McBride

Peter Forbes: 1 nomination
2010–11 Educating Agnes, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated

Michael Glenn Murphy: 1 nomination
2007–08 Shining City, Rapture Theatre, Nominated

Sandy Grierson in The Beautiful Cosmos of Ivor Cutler. Photograph: Tim Morozzo

Sandy Grierson: 3 nominations, inc 2 wins
2006–07 Fergus Lamont, Communicado, Won
2013–14, The Beautiful Cosmos of Ivor Cutler, Vanishing Point, Nominated
2015–16, Lanark: A Life in Three Acts, Citizens Theatre and the Edinburgh International Festival in association with Graham Eatough and Sorcha Dallas. won

Paul Higgins: 1 nomination
2015–16, Blackbird, Citizens Theatre. Nominated.

Barrie Hunter: 1 nomination
2015–16, Descent, produced by A Play, a Pie and a Pint, presented by the Traverse Theatre, in association with Luminate, Scotland’s creative ageing festival Nominated.

Robert Jack: 2 nominations, inc 1 win
2016–17: Much Ado About Nothing, Dundee Rep, Nominated
2017–18, Rhinoceros, Royal Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh, Won

Paul Jesson: 1 nomination
2003–04 Death of a Salesman, Royal Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh, Nominated

John Kazek: 1 nomination
2003–04 Pleasure and Pain, Citizens Theatre Company, Won

Stephen Kennedy: 1 nomination
2011–12 Someone Who’ll Watch Over Me, Perth Theatre, Nominated

Dougal Lee: 1 nomination
2003–04 Man and Superman, Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Nominated

Kevin Lennon: 1 nomination
2009–10 The Elephant Man, Dundee Rep Theatre, Won

Billy Mack: 2 nominations, inc 1 win
2008–09 The Sound of My Voice, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated
2016–17: Death of a Salesman, Dundee Rep, Won

Stuart McQuarrie: 1 nomination
2006–07 Realism, National Theatre of Scotland, Nominated

Ramesh Meyyappan: 1 nomination
2017–18, Off-Kilter, Tron Theatre, Nominated

Gerry Mulgrew: 2 nominations
2007–08 Peer Gynt, National Theatre of Scotland, Won
2016–17: Krapp’s Last Tape, Tron Theatre Company, Nominated

Tommy Mullins: 1 nomination
2005–06 Stacy. Hush Productions, Nominated

Gerard Murphy: 1 nomination
2012–13, Krapp’s Last Tape, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated

Michael Nardone: 1 nomination
2011–12 Men Should Weep, National Theatre of Scotland, Nominated

Sean O’Callaghan: 1 nomination
2014–15, Faith Healer, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh, Nominated

Grant O’Rourke: 2 nominations
2012–13, The Agony and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs, The Gilded Balloon, Nominated
2014–15, The Venetian Twins, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh, Won

Scott Reid: 1 nomination
2013–14, A Perfect Stroke, A Play, a Pie and a Pint, Nominated

Iain Robertson: 1 nomination
2012–13, Takin’ Over the Asylum, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated

Billy Seymour: 1 nomination
2008–09 Pornography, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated

Nabil Shaban: 1 nomination
2004–05 Threepenny Opera, Theatre Workshop, Nominated

Ian Smith: 1 nomination
2010–11 My Hands Are Dancing But My Heart Is Cold, Ian Smith, Nominated

David Tennant: 1 nomination
2004–05 Look Back in Anger, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Won

Jimmy Yuill: 1 nomination
2009–10 Testament Of Cresseid, Edinburgh International Festival, Nominated

Matthew Zajac: 1 nomination
2008–09 The Tailor of Inverness, Dogstar Theatre Company, Won