Award categories

What makes a theatre production eligible?

Any piece of professional theatre substantially produced in Scotland in the 12 months from May to April (the natural break in the theatre year) is eligible.

Any individual production may win in more than one category.

Awards are given to individual productions, not to a body of work, with the exception of the CATS Whiskers, an occasional award given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to theatre in Scotland.


  • Best Male Performance
  • Best Female Performance
  • Best Ensemble
  • Best Director
  • Best Design
  • Best Music and Sound
  • Best Technical Presentation
  • Best Show for Children and Young People
  • Best New Play
  • Best Production
  • CATS Whiskers